Qualification Process for the Next World Cup

This post is provoked by England’s elimination from the 2015 World Cup (see https://aspiblog.wordpress.com/2015/03/09/england-out-of-the-cricket-world-cup/ for details) and the arguments are based in part on the formula I suggested for running a cricket world cup in this post.

Given my suggestion for a 16 team competition, I reckon that the eight quarter-finalists should qualify automatically for the next world cup and everyone else regardless of historic status or otherwise within the cricket world should have to earn the right to be in the tournament by going through qualifying. Also, before anyone asks, I do not believe that host nations should qualify automatically – they too should be me made to earn the right to take part in the competition.


Author: Thomas

I am branch secretary of NAS West Norfolk and #actuallyautistic (diagnosed 10 years ago at the comparatively advanced age of 31). I am a keen photographer, so that most of my own posts contain photos. I am a keen cricket fan and often write about that subject. I also focus a lot on politics and on nature.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s